Ogun deputy gov heads palliatives distribution committee

* Committee to ensure palliatives reach every strata – Govt

By Nudoiba Ojen

Ogun State Deputy Governor, Noimot Salako-Oyedele, has been appointed head of the 29-member Central Working Committee (CWC) on the distribution of palliatives in the state.

The committee, which was empanelled by Governor Dapo Abiodun has the mandate to implement the various palliatives put in place by the state government for the citizens.

A statement on Tuesday by the Chief Press Secretary (CPS) to the Governor, Mr Lekan Adeniran, stated that the committee would hold its inaugural meeting on Wednesday, August 30.

Adeniran said that the committee was composed to ensure that the palliatives reached every strata of the society in line with the promise made to the people of the state by Governor Abiodun”.

He said that there will be a similar committee at each local government area to ensure the seamless distribution of the palliatives.

The CPS stated that members of the CWC were drawn from the 20 local government areas. They include Alhaja Salmot Badru, a former deputy governor in the state; Senator Shuaib Afolabi; Hon. Dewunmi Onanuga; Chief (Mrs) Yetunde Onanuga; and Hon. Latifat Ajayi (Deputy Speaker, OGHA).

Others include Hon. Lukman Adeleye, (Minority Leader, OGHA; Alhaja Selimot Ottun; Oyindamola Oyelese Adesina; Hon. Femi Ilori-Oduntan; Ayo Shomide; Hon. (Mrs) Motunrayo Adijat Oladapo-Adeleye; Adewale Adeshina; Angel Adelaja; Ola Oresanya.

Members include Mrs Ogunremi; Mrs Abbas (Iyaloja General); Feyikemi Egbeyemi; Yemisi Dawodu; Mr Aiyelagbe Abduljabar; Damilola Otubanjo; Job Akintan; Kolawole Lawal; Biodun Akovoyan; Ayo Somide; Dr Fred-Omojole Omolayo; Mokesioluwa O. Seun-Adedamola; Hon. Oladele Kayode, Mr Sola Arobieke and representatives of labour unions.

The committee at the local government level, according to the statement will include the council chairmen; members of the state House of Assembly; Leader of the House; Secretary to the Local Government; former GLOs; two members from the CDAs; representative of the market women association; four nominees from non-governmental organisations and representatives from traditional rulers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *