Southern monarchs adopt name, to synergise for peace, unity

By John Odunayo

The monarchs in the Southern part of Nigeria have said their coming together is to work in synergy for the peace in Nigeria and to further unity among themselves.

The monarchs, made the disclosure in the mission statement of their association as they adopted Southern Nigeria Traditional Rulers’ Council as the body’s name.

This was contained in a press statement released by the royal fathers after their association’s inaugural meeting held on May 21, 2024 at Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja.

The royal fathers’ body would be inaugurated soon.

The statement reads: “The inaugural meeting of the Royal Fathers of Southern Nigeria was well attended and focused on identifying strengths and expanding the membership of the newly constituted Council.

“The Council adopted the name “Southern Nigeria Traditional Rulers Council.”

“Membership of the Council shall be drawn from recognized Traditional Rulers of the three geopolitical zones” (that make up Southern Nigeria).


“The council agreed that the motto of the council shall be “Togetherness, Strength, and Progress.”


“The Council also agreed that the mission statement shall be “To work in synergy for peace of Nigeria and the furtherance of the unity of the Southern Traditional Institution.”


“The aim for the creation of a Southern Nigeria Traditional Rulers Council is to work for better understanding and respect for our diverse cultures in Southern Nigeria.

“The council desires to work for the unity and progress of our country, Nigeria.


“A date for the formal inauguration of the Southern Nigeria Traditional Rulers Council will be announced later.

The statement was signed by

1. His Imperial Majesty, Oba Dr Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi, CFR, Ojaja II, Ooni of Ife, Osun State.

2. His Eminence, Edidem Ekpo Okon Abasi Otu, Obong of Calabar, Cross River State.

3. HRM, Eze (Dr) Cletus I. Homuanya, CON, Obi of Obinugwu, Chairman Imo State Council of Elders.

4. HRM, Oba (Dr) Olufolarin Ogunsanwo Telade IV, Alara of llara, Epe Division, Lagos State.

5. HRM, Eze (Dr) Emmanuel C. Okeke, CFR, EzeUdo II of Amaife Ancient Kingdom, Imo State.

6. HRM, Oba (Dr) Aladetoyinbo Ogunlade Aladelusi, CFR, Odudun II Deji and Paramount Ruler of Akure Kingdom, Ondo State.

7. HRM, Eze Linus Mbah, Nto Eze Udo I of Ata Igbo Ukwu, Chairman Abia State Council of Traditional Rulers.

8.HRM, Oba Saheed Ademola Elegushi, Kusenla III, Elegushi of Ikate Kingdom, Lagos State.

9. HM, Dandeson Douglas Jaja, CFR, DSSRS, Jeki V, Jaja of Opobo, Rivers State.

10. HRM, Oba (Dr) Babatunde Ola Ogunlaja, JP, Aladeshoyin of Odo-Noforija Kingdom, Epe Division, Lagos State.

11. HRM, Oba Adesegun Bolaji Alowonle, Elemuren of Emuren, Ogun State.

12. HRM, Oba Sulaiman Adekunle Bamgbade, Ayodele IIL, Olofin of Isheri, Adimula of Awori Land.

13. HRM, Oba Joseph Adebayo Adewole JP OFR, Ajero of ljero, Ekiti State.

14. HRM, Oba Ayorinde Ilori Faboro, Ajiboyede III, Olojudo of Ido Kingdom, Ekiti State.

15. HRM, Oba (Dr) Adekunle Adeagbo, Oore of Otun, the Paramount Ruler of Mobaland, Ekiti State.

16. HRM, Eze M. C. Nwokoma, KSC, JP, MPA, Okaa-Omee 4th of Umuokanne Ancient Kingdom, Ohaji/Egbema, Imo State.

17. HRM, Oba (Engr) Nurudeen Osoja, Onikogbo of Ikogbo, Ogun State.

18. His Eminence, Eze Eberechukwu Oji, Eze Aro of Arochukwu Kingdom, Abia State.

19. HRM, Obi Benjamin Keagborukuzi Ikenchukwu, Dein of Agbor, Delta State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *